The vegan diet is wrongly interpreted by most people as a radical eating regime associated with anemic bare foot hippies, However the possibilities of a vegan diet are limitless, delicious and can be as easy or as complicated as a carnivorous diet. Vegan or Veganism is a diet that like vegetarianism excludes flesh. However vegans also choose to avoid all animal products such as eggs, dairy products and all other animal-derived ingredients
"Nothing will benefit human health and increase chances for survival of life on earth as much as the evolution to a vegetarian diet" Albert Einstein
Friday, 7 September 2012
Where do you draw the line?
So where does honey fit in?
The simplest reason why honey isn't viewed as suited for a vegan diet or
way of life is by definition. The term vegan was coined in 1944 and is defined
‘ Veganism is a way of living which excludes
all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, the animal kingdom, and includes
a reverence for life'
So do we
class honey as an animal product?
A.Yes, because bees are defined as animals they are in the phylum Anthropoda the same as crabs.
But bees don’t make honey it’s a product
Wrong! Bees are responsible for the
production of honey and its transformation from nectar to honey occurs when the
nectar they have collected and then regurgitate it.
We don't, however, need to go back to
1944 to define honey as not vegan. Any definition of veganism would talk about
not exploiting animals, and honeybees are, without a doubt, animals and Bees do
experience pain and suffering while they are being exploited for their products
-not only honey but other products like beeswax & royal jelly.
There is simply no way beekeepers, humane or
otherwise, can avoid harming or killing bees while they are extracting the
bees' products. Many choose their lifestyle because they wish to avoid harming
any other creature, and so they choose not to eat honey.